Missing Mile's Independent Voice

Mileposts: The Waffle Hut

In Citizens, Narrative on October 12, 2009 at 4:20 pm
Jon Haystack sits inside the Waffle Hut to write his experience of a Missing Mile favourite.

Photo and story by Jon Haystack

As I walk up to the waffle house door, my faint reflection looks straight at me between the glass, as if it was in another world parallel to this one. It mimics me, taunting me, following every action that I do and any in sight of its’ view.

Blinking twice, I go to turn the handle as it does at the exact moment and the door swings back. My reflection soon dissipates as I enter. Walking inside, I can smell the aroma of sizzling batter, warm syrup, and cooked toast. The waitress, Suzie Applebottom, is busy working behind the counter. Moving from the waffle maker to the stoves, she happily works through the day to keep those eager for waffles, well fed.

People sitting in seats, gossiping about their day and what’s to become. The commotion spills outside as some leave but is soon replaced by several more.

The moment soon fades away as the door shuts, followed by a single chime and the rising level of the atmosphere going on inside. I head past the stool chairs, waving to the waitress and spot a red booth that looks comforting and stride onward. Sitting down with a soft thud, I rest my back against the cushion and breathe a sigh of relief, enjoying the moment for the town hardly rests itself.

Turning my head over, I stare at the glass window looking toward Mooby’s and the rest of the neighborhood. Seeing my old friend and everyone inside, staring right back at me but more clearer from the light we lock eyes but I break away as citizens of the town walk past, taking quick looks inside but still walking forward.

It is dark outside, street lights, makeshift fires, headlights and the moonlit sky are all that illuminate the town. Turning back, I lose sight of my reflection but know it’s still with me and I look around the Waffle hut before motioning the waitress over, hearing my stomach growl softly.

Editor’s Note: Mileposts is a new column by Jon Haystack dedicated to narrative entries describing his experiences in the many noteworthy places of Missing Mile.

  1. jon you are such a good writer. =D

Leave a Reply

