Missing Mile's Independent Voice

A Mile in My Shoes: Delilah McDoodle

In Citizens, Interviews on October 5, 2009 at 3:32 am

del mcdoodleOnce a sporadic visitor, this interviewee has taken the plunge and moved to the Mile three weeks ago.

She doesn’t come toting machine guns, skin tight clothing, or tattoos, but she does warn against letting her big city ways fool you.

She gets upset sometimes, just like the rest of us, but overall she describes herself as a peaceful person looking for closure, a chance at happiness, and a break from the past.

It gives me great pleasure to introduce this week’s subject of A Mile in My Shoes, Delilah McDoodle.

MMT: Could you state your full name for the record?
DM: Delilah Dee McDoodle.

MMT: Pretty name.  Do you have any nicknames?
DM: Del or Dee sometimes.
DM: I refuse to respond to, “Hey Bitch!” I don’t care how many times I hear it on the streets.
MMT: Damn and I thought that one was reserved for me only!

MMT: Ok Del, could you describe yourself in three words for our readers?
DM:  Quiet, insecure, and unforgiving.
MMT: Duly noted.  I’ll do my best not to require forgiveness for any of the questions I’m about to ask you.

MMT: What would you say is your biggest pet peeve?
DM: [sighs] I expected more activity in this town. Of course I know it’s just a small town, but all the more reason to get to know your neighbours better. Everyone seems really tight knit and closed off.
DM: It’s a lot more quiet when I’m out and about.  Perhaps I sleep through all of the action.
MMT: It can certainly be difficult to find your place, though once you do, it is very tight knit you’re right. It may seem like a detriment now, but you’ll benefit  from it soon enough I think.

MMT: How would you describe your role within the Missing Mile Community?
DM: I don’t suppose I have a role. My cards haven’t been played yet. I’d like to get in to the business again. When it’s my time. For now I’d just like to find a place that feels comfortable enough for me to keep coming back to.
MMT: What business do you speak of?
DM:  I used to be an executive secretary for a car company though I’d rather not mention the name. I’ve always been busy, on the go and stuff. I like it that way. It keeps my mind off of other things.
MMT: I can certainly relate to that. And executive secretaries definitely keep busy. I’m sure someone will find good use for those kinds of skills here.
DM: [laughs] I guess you could say I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty.
MMT: Then Missing Mile is definitely for you!

MMT: What would you say is your favourite place in Missing Mile?
DM: I do enjoy the record store.
MMT: Ah yeah, I could spend hours in there! What’s your favourite type of music?
DM: I like a little bit of everything really.  I could listen to Classical music for hours.

MMT: If you could go on a road trip with one person from Missing Mile, who would it be and why?
DM: I’d probably invite the Mayor.  I’d like to pick her brain and share my ideas with her.
MMT: You’re in it to win it! That’s the first time we’ve had that answer.  Smart girl.
DM: Who wouldn’t want to sit down with the big cheese who runs the show?

MMT: What has been your most memorable moment in Missing Mile thus far?
DM: I got my first ticket by a couple of scary State Cops for failing to wear my helmet. I still have yet to pay it.
MMT: Damn! How much do they charge for that?
DM: Two hundred.  Can you believe it?
MMT: [sighs] Staties.

MMT: What has been your biggest accomplishment in Missing Mile thus far?
DM: My biggest accomplishment thus far would be that no one really knows who I am. I feel I can really move on now and that’s good for me.
MMT: And what is it that you’re moving on from exactly?  I’ll gladly accept cryptic hints in lieu of a straight answer.
DM: A very bad relationship.  Some men are just scum. I really don’t want to get in to it.
MMT: Need a hit?
DM: Of what?
[laughter]

MMT: What is one thing people might be surprised to learn about you?
DM: I don’t own any firearms and I don’t plan to purchase any.  Ever.
MMT: Preach on sister. We are both in that lonely boat it seems.

MMT: Lastly in fairness, is there anything you’d like to ask me?
DM: How much for the boyfriend?  You know… the Captain?
DM: [laughs] Kidding!
MMT: Priceless! But for everything else there’s MasterCard.

Next week’s interviewee TBA

Nominations are open in the comments section below

I don’t suppose I have a role. My cards haven’t been played yet. I’d like to get in to the business again. When it’s my time. For now I’d just like to find a place that feels comfortable enough for me to keep coming back to.
  1. Haha, great read! I saw you about delivering pizzas today, Del! Hayden and I are toootally getting the 5-5-5 deal this weekend! xD

  2. /me takes notes

    /me nods “Chuck Norris Approves.”

Leave a Reply

